A guide to BBC Sports Personality of the Year

It’s that time of year again and the waiting is almost over as we find out the winner of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year for 2018 on Sunday night in Birmingham.

The format of the competition has changed this year, with the nominees due to be revealed on the night of the show for the very first time in its history.

Despite this, the performances of Britain’s sporting stars over the course of the year have ensured there is plenty of speculation as to who will take the crown which was won by Sir Mo Farah in 2017.

Here is our guide to everything you need to know about BBC Sports Personality of the Year.


Possible nominees

With the addition of the nominees only revealed on the night it will certainly add even more excitement to the event.

Although no-one knows officially who is on the shortlist, a string of top performances over the course of the year from some of the countries top sporting stars gives us something to go on.

Cyclist Geraint Thomas became the first Welshman to win the Tour de France this year, while Lewis Hamilton picked up his fifth Formula 1 title and it is hard to not see them being in the mix on the night.

Ronnie O’Sullivan’s recent win at the UK Championships has ensured there is some clamour for ‘The Rocket’ to be on the shortlist as he is now the most decorated snooker player to have ever graced the game.

Another likely addition to the nominees is Tyson Fury, who returned to the ring earlier this month and produced a great performance in his draw against Deontay Wilder over in America for the WBC heavyweight title.

The favourite to take the award is England and Tottenham Hotspur captain Harry Kane and it is hard to see anyone stopping him collecting the accolade.

The two-time Premier League golden boot winner spearheaded England’s World Cup heroics which saw them lose out in the semi-final to Croatia.

He scored six goals to bring home the golden boot at the tournament, the first Englishman to do so since Gary Lineker back in 1986.

Other likely nominees include swimming’s Adam Peaty, former England cricket captain Alastair Cook and athletics’ Dina Asher-Smith.


Sports Personality of the Year past winners

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year has been running since 1954, with athletics’ Chris Chataway becoming the first winner.

The sport of athletics has the most number of winners going into this year’s event, with 18 having taken home the top prize

Second is Formula 1 with seven winners, with tennis and football next with six and five winners respectively.

Here is a list of all the previous winners of the competition

Year Winner
1954 Sir Chris Chattaway
1955 Gordon Pirie
1956 Jim Laker
1957 Dai Rees
1958 Ian Black
1959 John Surtees
1960 David Broome
1961 Sir Stirling Moss
1962 Anita Lonsbrough
1963 Dorothy Hyman
1964 Mary Rand
1965 Tommy Simpson
1966 Bobby Moore
1967 Sir Henry Cooper
1968 David Hemery
1969 Ann Jones
1970 Sir Henry Cooper
1971 HRH Princes Anne
1972 Dame Mart Peters
1973 Sir Jackie Stewart
1974 Brendan Foster
1975 David Steele
1976 John Curry
1977 Virginia Wade
1978 Steve Ovett
1979 Lord Sebastian Coe
1980 Robin Cousins
1981 Sir Ian Botham
1982 Daley Thompson
1983 Steve Cram
1984 Torvill and Dean
1985 Barry McGuigan
1986 Nigel Mansell
1987 Fatima Whitbread
1988 Steve Davis
1989 Sir Nick Faldo
1990 Paul Gascoigne
1991 Liz McColgan
1992 Nigel Mansell
1993 Linford Christie
1994 Damon Hill
1995 Jonathan Edwards
1996 Damon Hill
1997 Greg Rusedski
1998 Michael Owen
1999 Lennox Lewis
2000 Sir Steve Redgrave
2001 David Beckham
2002 Paula Radcliffe
2003 Jonny Wilkinson
2004 Dame Kelly Holmes
2005 Andrew Flintoff
2006 Zara Phillips
2007 Joe Calzaghe
2008 Sir Chris Hoy
2009 Ryan Giggs
2010 AP McCoy
2011 Mark Cavendish
2012 Bradley Wiggins
2013 Andy Murray
2014 Lewis Hamilton
2015 Andy Murray
2016 Andy Murray
2017 Mo Farah




One response to “A guide to BBC Sports Personality of the Year”

  1. Manuel Franco

    I just want to say Thank You to everyone who supported me through the years. My name is Manuel Franco, New Berlin, Wisconsin. My story of how I won the Powerball lottery of $768.4M is a bit of a tale. I have been playing Powerball tickets for 6 years now since I turned 18. I bought my first ticket on my 18 birthday. I was feeling very lucky that day because I had contacted Dr. Odunga Michael to help me with the winning Powerball numbers. I really had that great great feeling that I looked at the camera wanting to wink at it. I only did a tiny part of it and trusted him. He gave me the numbers after I played a couple other tickets along with it for $10. I checked my ticket after the winnings came online and saw the numbers were correct including the Power play. I screamed for about 10 minutes because it felt like a dream. I had won $768.4M. You can check my winning testimony with the lottery officials just with my name search. Thank you Dr Odunga. Well, his email is odungaspelltemple@gmail.com and you can also call or Whats-app him at +2348167159012 so you guys can contact him

Leave a Reply