NBA League system explained

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the highest level of basketball in America, and arguably the world. And we, at Grosvenor Casino, love to keep ourselves updated with the latest news when it comes to the favourite sports. Do you know about the NBA League System? The online casino is here to provide you with the full-fledged explanation of this.

NBA was founded in 1946 and changed its name to the NBA in 1949 after merging with the National Basketball League.

The season runs from October to April, with an 82-game regular season making it one of the most taxing professional sports.

The NBA is one of the only leagues in the world that schedules games regularly on Christmas Day.

Teams compete to reach the NBA Finals, where they play for the Larry O’Brien trophy.

Throughout this guide, we take an in-depth look at the system and how it works.

Eastern Conference

No. of Teams: 15

Teams: Atlanta Hawks, Boston Celtics, Brooklyn Nets, Charlotte Hornets, Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, New York Knicks, Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers, Toronto Raptors, Washington Wizards.

The eight teams with the best record make the playoffs, seeded from 1-8 based on best to worst record for the playoffs.

Interesting Facts: The Boston Celtics made it 10 straight NBA Finals between 1956/7 and 1965/66, winning nine championships.

The Toronto Raptors are the only NBA team not based in the USA, and are the current NBA Champions, overcoming Golden State in the 2019 NBA Finals.

Wilt Chamberlain once scored 100 points whilst playing for the Philadelphia Warriors, an NBA record.

Western Conference

No. of Teams: 15

Teams: Dallas Mavericks, Denver Nuggets, Golden State Warriors, Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Memphis Grizzlies, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, Oklahoma City Thunder, Phoenix Suns, Portland Trail Blazers, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Spurs, Utah Jazz.

The eight teams with the best record make the playoffs, seeded from 1-8 based on best to worst record for the play-offs.

Interesting Facts: The Los Angeles Lakers have won the most Western Conference titles, with 31.

The Golden State Warriors have represented the Western Conference in the last five NBA Finals, a Western Conference record.

Kobe Bryant is the only player to have two jersey numbers retired by the same team, no.8 and no.24, by the Los Angeles Lakers

Play-off System

The NBA playoffs begin in April following the conclusion of the regular season with the top eight teams in each conference, regardless of divisional alignment, competing for the league’s championship title, the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy. Seeds are awarded in strict order of regular season record (with a tiebreaker system used as needed).

Having a higher seed offers several advantages. Since the first seed begins the playoffs playing against the eighth seed, the second seed plays the seventh seed, the third seed plays the sixth seed, and the fourth seed plays the fifth seed, having a higher seed means a team faces a weaker team in the first round. The team in each series with the better record has home court advantage, including the First Round.

All playoff rounds take the form of a best-of-seven series, meaning a team needs to win four games to progress to the next round.

Interesting Facts: No eighth-seeded team has ever won the NBA Finals.

The Golden State Warriors own the longest NBA playoff winning streak for a single postseason, with 15 straight wins in the 2017 playoffs.

Are your attempts at basketball betting hitting the backboard? Check out our sports betting page to find tips, tricks, and a whole variety of different sports to bet on. We don’t only offer you the best odds in basketball betting but also on various other sports such as Horse Racing Betting, Football Betting and Golf!








Leave a Reply